Supplement Review: GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein, unflavored

Their Recommendations: 1 scoop with drink; 1 to 2 daily.

I took about 2 to 3 scoops daily, after workouts and about 1/4 scoops in with various drinks and meals throughout the day. It was very handy having a unflavored protein mix.

But the unflavored, flavor was nasty. There was a lingering after taste on top of an odd initial taste. I had to drowned out the unflavored flavor with some sweetener and other flavored drink mixes.

The benefits of an “unflavored” outweighed the nasty subtle weird flavor.


Personal Effects:

I was able to attain all my necessary grams of protein daily by being able to add it in any and all drinks, even into some meals as I cooked. The consistent sustained protein intake for sure aided in my recovery and muscle development.


Physical Test:

I added about 1/4 scoop in my pre and intra workout drinks. I then had about 2 scoops in my post workout drink, about 4 to 5 days a week for 30 days. THIS is my issue though, this big ass container was only half full… I hate that. It’s like a scam. Makes you feel like you are getting a lot when, in fact, you are not. Needless to say, it only started the last for the full 30 days when i started to skimp on the servings.

20200118_1117325579341417915155548.jpg


Ingredient Scrutiny:

I’m perplexed why there is 6g of carbs, 2g of sugar, per scoop, yet, this stuff states like ass. For someone with ultra low carb goals, why can’t I just find a protein with ZERO carbs? Well, I can, and have, but I just wanted this one to be it. 24g of 100% Whey protein is decent, pretty average. Notice it has Soy Lecithin, which comes from genetically modified soy. Not that GMOs are bad, just some nerds get all weird about that kind of stuff. It is also interesting that though it claims to be 100% “whey” protein, it also contains Soybeans… Kinda makes me wonder what percentage of “Whey” this product actually is…


Full Disclosure:

To be honest, I also supplemented with other Whey proteins. Sometimes I wasn’t in the mood for that unflavored flavor.


The Price Point:

At $24.99, what would be $1 per gram of protein with a 24g scoop. At a 25 serving, that would mean roughly 600g of protein in the container.

That’s kinda pricey considering you can get Equate Whey Protein, with the same listed ingredients for $16.99, same size and weight. At a 22 servings, that would mean roughly 660g of protein per container. This is about $0.7 per gram of protein with a 30g scoop.


Final Recommendation

GNC keeps the prices up. All though this seems cheap, $24, it only contains 25 servings and half the container is actually full. It’s nice having flavorless protein but, this isn’t exactly flavorless either. The fact that they include Soybean into a so-called “100% Whey” product is kinda odd, almost questionable, because then it wouldn’t bee 100% Whey…

I give this product a 3 of 5 Flexes!

💪🏽💪🏽💪🏽

My supplement standard review guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.